The continent Europe

The continent Europe The continent Europe lies north of the continent Africa and East of the continent Asia. Europe is next to the continent Oceania, the smallest continent of the seven continents on our world. But nevertheless, it has a lot of different countries within it. Each country with its own characteristics and climate. Some even have some great mountain areas. Of course also Europe consists of a Northern, Eastern, Southern and Western part. So, you can devide this continent in the following parts with countries:

  • Northern Europe, with the Scandinavian and the Baltic countries (Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania)
  • Eastern Europe, which consists of the European part of Russia, the Balkans and the Caucasus
  • Southern Europe, with the Iberian and Italian peninsula and the Mediterranean Islands
  • Western Europe, with the Low Lands, British Islands and France

Countries in the Northern part of this continent

Northern Europe the Northern part of Europe consists of the countries Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden. Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are also called the Baltic countries. The other countries belong to Scandinavia, the land of the Vikings.

Countries in the Eastern part of this continent

Eastern Europe The biggest part of the east of this continent, belongs to the European part of Russia. But, there’s more than just Russia. Next to this country, you have the following countries in the East of Europe: Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Hungary, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia.

Countries in the Southern part of this continent

Southern Europe The Southern part of this continent is mostly the hottest part of Europe. This part consists of the coutries Cyprus, Greece, Italy, Malta, Portugal, San Marino, Spain and Vatican City (the country where the Pope lives).

Countries in the Western part of this continent

Western Europe Of course there’s also the west of this continent, which is also kind of known as the Low Lands and the British Islands. The Western part consists of the countries Andorra, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Switzerland and the United Kingdom (UK).

Europe learning tools and coloring pages

A learning tool cannot be missed when you have to learn about the European geography. Below we have placed some printable coloring pages and some learning tools, also called European maps. This is handy when you have to learn about the different countries the continent Europe consists of.
Besides learning, it’s also great to color in a great Europe coloring page.

European coloring page Europe coloring page European map with country names

Map of Europe European map Europe map