The continent Asia

The continent AsiaThe continent Asia is the biggest continent of all continents on our world. Asia is located east of Europe and lies between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. Within this biggest continent there’s the highest point of the world, that’s on the mountain Mount Everest. Every professional climber dreams of climbing the Mount Everest to reach the highest point.

There are different climates on this continent. Each climate has its own animals living there. For example there are:

  • The desserts with camels and lizards
  • The tundra with foxes and wolves
  • The forest with their bears
  • The beautiful pandas in the mountain area in China

This mainland consists of 6 regions, each region has its own countries. We have placed all countries per region below.

North Asia

Northern Asia The Northern part of this very huge continent consist of the large country Russia. This part can also be called Siberia, which is best known for its very cold and long winters. Sometimes the country Mongolia is called as a part of the North, but we have placed this country in the East region. There’s also a part of Russia in the continent Europe.

West Asia

Western Asia The Western region of this continent consists of the countries Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Georgia, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Turkey, United Arab Emirates and Yemen. This region is also called the Middle East, some of these countries (like Turkey and Armenia) are also counted to the continent Europe.

Central Asia

Central Asia Central Asia consist of five countries, knowing Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistanen and Uzbekistan. Sometimes Afghanistan is also seen as a country in the central region, but this country is officially part of the Southern region. This region is very large region with high passes, mountains, deserts and grassy steppes.

Eastern Asia

Eastern Asia The Eastern part of this mainland consists of the countries China, Japan, Mongolia, North Korea and South Korea.

South Asia

Southern Asia Southern Asia consist of the countries Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Iran, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

South-East Asia

South-East Asia The last but not least region is the Southeast region of Asia. This region consists of the countries Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Timor-Leste, Thailand and Vietnam. You can devide the Southeastern region into the mainland (also called Indochina) and the Maritime (also called the East Indies).

Maps, tools and coloring pages of the continent Asia

If you like to color in some coloring pages with the countries in Asia, you can download and print them for free. You’ll find some below.
You can also use them to try to learn the many countries within this continent. But, there must be some time for fun, so start with coloring in the coloring pages :). We have also placed a coloring page with some named countries, here you have to map the countries with the named countries by colour. You can use the added maps to do this, you can also use the maps for learning purposes.

Asia coloring pages Coloring page of the Asian map

Map coloring pages Coloring page

Colour in countries by color

Asia map Map of Asia Asian map